Captain Katsande Fires Chiefs Up To Fourth

Local Katsande

Result: Kaizer Chiefs (Katsande 41′) 1-0 Black Leopards

Date:  07 November 2018

Venue: FNB Stadium

Kaizer Chiefs got their Absa Premiership campaign back on track after defeating Black Leopards 1-0 to move up to fourth spot.

View The PSL Table

As expected, Giovanni Solinas opted for a couple changes as Andriamirado ‘Dax’ Andrianarimanana was handed his first start while Teenage Habede replaced the suspended Siyabonga Ngezana.

It was Leopards who looked more threatening, with Mwape Musonda forcing Itumeleng Khune into a couple saves, while Dumisani Zuma should have opened the scoring for Chiefs after 15 minutes.
With the constant changes in the Chiefs back four, holes in the defence were bound to occur as the likes of Phathutshedzo Nange and Lesedi Kapinga managed carve open the backline with a few passes.
Chiefs had to wait until the 40th minute to get the opening goal as Ramahlwe Mphahlele’s flick on found Willard Katsande, who nodded home at the far post.
That proved to be the final opening of the half as the AmaKhosi took a slender lead into the break.
Chiefs should have found themselves two goals up 10 minutes into the second half, but Mario Booysen, who is yet to score this season, headed straight at King Ndlovu from six-yards out.
Solinas opted for his first change after 64 minutes as the in-effective Zuma made way for Bhongolwethu Jayiya, while Leopards threw on Joseph Mlhongo for Lifa Hlongwane.
Khune came to Chiefs’ rescue 10 minutes later with a stunning reflex save to deny Mthokozisi Nene from point-blank range following a corner.
Billiat endured a frustrating evening in the attack, as he squandered another chance after 82 minutes when he was thwarted by Ndlovu after a superb pass from Leonardo Castro.
In the end, Chiefs managed to see off the late push from Leopards to return to winning ways in the Absa Premiership.
Here’s how they lined up:
Chiefs: 32. Khune , 2. Mphahlele, 30. Hadebe, 5. Booysen, 39. Walusimbi, 13. Katsande, 6. Andrianarimanana (Maluleka 80′), 28. Zuma (Jayiya 64′), 11. Billiat, 22. Zulu (Cardoso 90), 8. Castro.
Subs: 44. Bvuma, 4. Cardoso, 12. Maluleka, 27. Ekstein, 6. Jayiya, 29. Moon, 10. Ntshangase.
Leopards: Leopards: 22. Ndlovu, 33. Katjiukua, 28. Munganga, 5. Munyai, 13. Zulu, 20. Nene, 14. Nange (T.Ndlovu 82′), 4. Khutlang (Tshepe 46′), 17. Hlongwane (Mhlongo 66′), 12. Kapinga, 11. Musonda.
Subs: 3. Ndou, 10. Tshepe, 24. Mahangwahaya, 25. Mokoena, 30. Mhlongo, 31. Ndlovu.
Source: SL



READ  The 25 Highest-Paid Footballers in the World